Keep That Mind Clicking

Vancouver is considered one of the best places to live in. It’s pretty great actually. The weather is decent, nothing too extreme generally, people are nice (in general), and there can be quite a few things to do. I think I want to move out after university though. The smog here in Vancouver is terrible on hot humid days. Really, I noticed a blueish tinge on objects as close as ten metres away. It seems that I am the only one who has noticed this so far; this means one of two things, I’m either just really observant, or I am going insane. I hope not the latter.

In any case, I think I have thought of an answer to the my previous “best friend” question. It is quite hard to define  “best friend” as it means something different to most people, but I think the general rule of thumb is as follows: A best friend is someone you can act stupid with and it won’t really matter because he/she knows that you can behave in a more proper manner. This person does not necessarily have to hang out with you very often, though it is an added bonus. In cases like this, there is no specific “best friend”. You can’t really limit yourself to one since person “A” might consider you a best friend when you think that your best friend is person “B”.

I’ve been stressing about University lately. It is welcoming to know that I am not the only one worrying about post-secondary at this point in time because simply put, it’s annoying. I recently read an article about China and how the generation of today is quite content and are not prone to any protests like that of Tienanmen Square in 1989. Some reasons included changing government, increase in middle class, more education, pretty much the usual mumbo jumbo. Things didn’t get too interesting until university graduates and the current recession came into play. If I recall correctly (I may be terribly off) there are going to be 6 million Chinese graduates from university. Quite frankly, that’s a lot. That’s not the really interesting part though. In one particular university, ten of its graduates applied for jobs as “Public Washroom Attendants”; I’m not kidding. One of the applicants replied only with this: “Better to be public washroom attendants than to have no job at all.” Now that got me thinking made me realize something. I have no desire to pursue a career in whatever degree I end up getting. I just want to learn as much as I can from university then see where life takes me. Maybe start off poor and worthless?

There’s something just plain wonderful about hanging out with other people; humans are social animals by nature so it isn’t really surprising.  However, at the same time it just isn’t so pleasant all the time.  Why is that? Will I get accepted to UBC? Why is Vancouver so smoggy? What is a good life? I mean really, what makes someone’s life better than the next person? if at all?

Leave a Reply

