How long can things last?

The last 2 days have been pretty fun. I have been hanging out with Jeff, and 3 other people from UBC Sauder. Jon, Steff, and Lily. All 3 are interesting in their own ways, but I won’t go into that here (at least not yet). Yesterday in particular was very…interesting. To say the least, Steff has some VERY VERY caring friends and I have never experienced so much drama in my entire life so far. Anyway, I love hanging out with these people (we can do whatever and no one seems to care all that much); there is a nice mix of understanding, jesting, and just plain joking around.

As awesome as it sounds, I can’t help but think at how long this…friendship will last. They are all commerce students and I am the only Arts student and once classes start…well we’ll see. I am quite used to being friends with someone for only a year or two and the possibility of this particular friendship fading away is very much a possibility in my mind. Ideally, that won’t happen but I am a pessimist and I guess that is how my mind works. My life has been a series of disappointments and lack of luck so can you really blame me for thinking this way (though there has been quite a few amazingly good strokes of luck)? Maybe you can, maybe you can’t. Maybe a couple of months from now, I shall wonder how the hell I thought this way (assuming we’re still friends).

Needless to say, it seems slightly odd that my first friends in university as an Arts student, are from the Commerce Faculty.

Leave a Reply

