School how I’ve missed you. Well some of you.

So great news, I’m finally done summer school!  and I can finally start updating my blogs again. Even better news, classes start up again in a few weeks and believe it or not, I can’t wait. There’s something about having classes in the regular Lower Mainland rainy weather that gets me excited. Call me emo, call me crazy, or call me just plain depressed (if you want) but fact of the matter is I do in fact like rain; that being said though, I like snow a lot more.

Of course, there are things I don’t miss about school. They’re rather small in number. I don’t like the stress all that much and I don’t like having things I’m not all too interested in being due. However, that’s more or less life so those are just things to be dealt with. I do like having a routine though. It helps me forget about things and makes me feel like I accomplished something.

There’s much more to life than just school, finding that job, and working for the rest of your life (with small things inbetween). I think this is something most people can more or less agree on. In my case, the project I’ve been working on since the start of last year is perhaps one of the only things that I look forward to in the upcoming year.

Portraits of UBC. It was a rather simple idea at first and it was an idea that was just mean for some kicks, giggles, and taking photographs for the sake of taking photographs. I never realized that it would become such a big part of my life and become something that has some sort of life of its own.I try to make my school schedule work for it rather than having the project work around the schedule. Perhaps not the smartest thing to do, but that’s what I’m doing.

One thing I’ve learned from this project is that people are more or less the same deep down regardless of what race, culture, or background they come from. I mean that fairly loosely, but it generally holds true. Now the next step is to learn something else.

Now down below is a collage I made out of the 1220 or so pictures of different people I’ve taken. Based on the collage, it seems like a lot, but I personally haven’t found that number to be all that high. A year ago, I would have found it to be but it’s just not the case now.

Well, that’s about it for now. If this is the first time you’ve heard about the Portraits of UBC project, the link is somewhere on the side there —>

Or you can go here: http://ubcportraits.wordpress.com/

The project is post-poned for now, but it’ll continue once school starts.

I guess the whole point of this is, if you’re going to go somewhere new, whether it’s a new school, a new job, or a new location, it’s fairly important to find something that you can enjoy doing as an alternative. So as a second year UBC student, that would be my message to any incoming first year regardless of faculty. I suppose partying can fit into this…but it’s not something I’d endorse. Of course, that’s just me. I don’t seem to get any satisfaction out of partying/drinking. That’s probably just cause I’m odd like that. If that is your fancy and you feel satisfied from it, go ahead. It’s your life. Not mine.

Regards,

Rabi

4 thoughts on “School how I’ve missed you. Well some of you.”

  1. Pingback: Another new post
  2. I’d suggest you create a picture out of the collage of pictures you’ve taken. That would be an awesome finish to your project.

  3. “It helps me forget about things and makes me feel like I accomplished something.”

    I don’t like the idea of routine, but I completely agree with you on that.

    Did you use Picasa for your collage?

    1. Well routine is good to a certain point. When you really do have nothing to do, it helps.

      As for the collage, I used a program called “Shape Collage”. It’s a dedicated program for making collages.

Leave a Reply

