What’s real and what’s not?

I should have taken Political Science a lot earlier, but that being said maybe it’s just the international politics aspect that is extremely interesting. Who knows?

Anywho, the world is one confusing hodge podge of craziness and who am I to decide what is right or wrong? what is the best way of doing something and what is the worst way of doing something? I’m pretty well informed about what’s going on in the world, but I can’t say it’s enough to make decisions. Heck, not even enough to maybe even form an opinion. Perhaps this is why the career of a journalist/photojournalist is so appealing to me. But even then, I have questions about that sometimes in terms of morals (I guess that would depend on the kind of work that is done right?). I don’t feel like I am able to really do anything. I want to help with doing SOMETHING, but what can I do? Yes, you can throw in some argument about donations but that really does not fly with me. I need to be on the ground doing something in person. Human connection? Perhaps.

The phrase “ignorance is bliss” comes to mind. Does knowing about all the not so great events in the world help? Heck, let’s not call it “not so great”, sugar coating is a pet peeve of mine anyway. Without using profanity, a lot of what’s going on in the world on a basic human level just plain SUCKS. It makes your social problems look like a joke. Seriously. Don’t make me laugh. Got troubles with that significant other? At this point I’d sooner punch you than listen to your problems. I’m not saying I wouldn’t be sympathetic, but at this point in my state of mind it would be best to talk to someone else. Just saying *giggles*.

So is ignorance bliss? Probably not, as much as I have whined before (and will probably complain some more in the future) it is better to know than not know. Some days, it would probably be best for me to put aside the news in the world and just go out with friends and have some sort of fun. A mix of information and just enjoying life. Think globally, act locally? A phrase that is used more often than I would like, but it describes it pretty well.

I know I’m crazy lucky to be where I am now, but I feel like I need to EXPERIENCE the fact that I am lucky. Travel to locations that are of the “other world” would perhaps do me some good. Photography beckons me to go in that direction rather than do the typical thing and get a job over the summer. Strange.

So in order for the world to become “ideal” is there a way so that everybody can be helped along the route? or in order for anything of that sort to happen do some people need to suffer greatly? The answer to that is something I’m quite afraid of.

 

One thought on “What’s real and what’s not?”

Leave a Reply

