Something serious, yet not quite

It’s been a strange set of days to say the least. Why is that? Well for starters, death.

No this is not going to be an “emo” post (at least I don’t think it will be). I bring this up because I have learned about 4 deaths (one of them is on the way apparently) in the past 2 days. Literally two per day. I can mention one, but not the other two; at least I don’t feel like mentioning the other two. The one I can mention is the death of my high school math teacher. Do I mention her name? Ms. Radu. I only had her for grade 8/9 math, but she definitely was one the more memorable teachers. From what I can recall she was a more carefree and relaxed person. I honestly cannot remember her very well, but my friend does here on her blog. Well enough of the recollection which I am terrible at (I barely remember high school to be frank).

Am I sad? I suppose I would be a heartless person if I were to say “heck no”. So I won’t say that (and I’m not saying that because I socially can’t). I am sad, but to an extremely slight degree. It doesn’t affect me one bit and I suppose it has something to do with the fact that I’ve accepted death as an inevitability (be it in 60 years or 60 minutes) since the age of 11. The particular topic is one of taboo and I find that quite…annoying, but in the sense that I can never really talk to anyone about it (too philosophical and such, what not?). I’m not saying we shouldn’t care when someone passes away, I’m just not affected very much by it. Maybe it has to do with the fact that I can’t think of anybody super close to me that has passed away (or the fact that my parents joke about death more than just once). I can’t imagine my parents passing away. That is something I don’t think I can handle very well. So, there we have it. If someone close to me were to pass away then I’ll probably tear up, but that’s something else.

This hearing of 4 deaths comes at a bit of a surprise to me and it got me thinking quite a bit. If anybody starts talking about the death of someone, it’s like a bomb went off in the room. Everyone goes silent and there’s always someone who says “I’m sorry”. Situations like that, dare I say, make me smirk. I’m not the best person on the planet, but I’m not the worst either. I am not smirking at the death itself, but there’s just something about “awkward” situations that I find amusing. I’m digressing though. Death is such an inevitability and is so common, yet society (and ourselves in general) does a great job of hiding that fact. Even if you showed everybody the statistics and physical images, people will either ignore them or get over the thought rather quickly. Perhaps it is best that death is a taboo subject. It makes it the more shocking when a person does pass a way and if we were all indifferent about it, where would our humanity be?

No one wants to die (assuming things are decent) and not everyone handles death in the same way. No emotion? Heartless. Too much emotion? Unstable. You got extremes on both ends unfortunately.

What is the point of life? Not something I have an answer to. What kind of legacy do you want to leave? At most, it’ll be around for a generation or two and then you’ll be forgotten (unless you are known for something very well known). Do you really need to even consider leaving a legacy then? Why even bother living now? And, a question for myself, what is the point of taking all these photos if most of them (if not all) will not be seen by any other person except those around me (and probably won’t be used in a history textbook, this thought made me giggle).

Why do we do things that, for the most part, won’t make a difference in the big whole world? Well, because we enjoy them; we can express ourselves in whatever it is we do. Phase that comes to mind? It’s the little things in life. Add up every single moment of happiness, charity, goodness, and comfort. You got one enormous pile of super awesome right there. Admittedly, the world isn’t so happy. Lives are cut short, sorrow runs rampant through various areas, and we’re all hit with our moments of complete distress. When you fall into that pit of despair, just close your eyes, take a deep breath (and breathe). Try to talk to someone, try to remember your happy moments, try to remember something you care about. If all that fails, then just remember one thing. While it may not seem so, you’re not alone. Nor is the world conspiring against you. Prepare for the worst, hope for the best, and repeat.

If all that fails, go distract yourself with something. That helps too.

So it’s interesting where thinking can lead you. From one topic to another that kind of relates (and kind of doesn’t).

4 thoughts on “Something serious, yet not quite”

  1. Your discussion on death raises many questions about life.

    I don’t want to get too philosophical — especially not after two exams today — but it’s a fascinating topic with a lot of socio-cultural, wellness, and healthcare-related implications. Considering that the first wave of baby boomers are beginning to retire, it’s a conversation in which society will shortly be forced to more frequently and openly engage.

    Here’s one of my favourite quotes by Sherwin Nuland: “There is no way to deter old age from its grim duty, but a life of accomplishment makes up in quality for what it cannot add in quantity.”

    On a related note: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-12334284

  2. came across this quote recently, that kind of relates to the one Eastwood has above:

    “…And I know it’s only natural to be sad, but not because of the words ‘He dies,’
    but because of the life we saw prior to the words [/the death].”

    (full quote & source here: http://quote-book.tumblr.com/post/3219604146)

    (perhaps it may sound a bit cliche, but I truly believe that) Life is a gift, and worth living/”giving” (to the best we can?) …even though we die, even though our lives may be cut short, even though we may not leave much of a legacy (…but at least it’s worth trying).

Leave a Reply

