Eating noodles with two spoons

Ever try eating instant noodles with two spoons before? I almost did. Turns out instant noodles in China have forks in them prepackaged. Phew. That being said, I got a lot to catch up on in terms of blogging. The hotel rooms I’ve been in lately have internet connection, but not wireless (I was thinking of inserting a “can you believe it?” in there, but that seemed stupid). I should be grateful internet even exists. My laptop doesn’t have an internet plug so I’ve begun to think that I should pack a wireless router next time. I’m always missing something when I pack; Figures.

Past tense time. I’ll talk about what I did two days ago .Two days ago, I was at the city of WuXi. It’s quite an interesting city. Actually, scratch that. I’ve been to a number of cities already (Beijing, Nanjing, Wuxi, SuZhou, and HangZhou, where I’m currently am at right now). I’m mixing the places we went to in each city together, so it’s best if I just simplify each city the way I can now.

Beijing: Big. It’s damn big.
Nanjing: Not much to see. It’s an ok city, but not really that much to see.
Wuxi: Nice city, has some nice gardens and is cleaner than the first two.
SuZhou: Lots of historical sites (especially ones to do with rocks and stone walls).
HangZhou: Probably the most polite of the 5 so far in terms of people. Also extremely clean and the people also follow the rules of the road more so.

What do I mean by rules of the road? You know how drivers are in the Lower Mainland area. Main rule of the road is the fact that pedestrians have the right of way. Here in China, It’s more like cars do. It’s probably not the legal rule, but it’s more of an unwritten rule. Red light running is pretty common by scooters and mopeds. Cars don’t necessarily stay in their respective lanes either. For example, if it’s a 3 lane marked road, it can technically be a 5-lane road if it can fit five car widths. Yeah, I’m serious.

Honking on the road is a different story. Honking is wayyyy more common. In the Lower Mainland, honking is to indicate 3 things: “watch out!; What are you doing?!; Jeez you’re driving wrong!” In China, it’s used to indicated the previous 3 and another 3. These other 3 things are: “I’m passing you; I’m changing lanes; I’m gonna be in your way despite you trying to change lanes.” Initially, it would seem like Chinese drivers are just rude. Yeah I guess so, but if you take it in with an open mind, you’ll notice that it’s just a way of life for drivers here. They don’t really care if you honk that much.

China isn’t all that bad once you look at it with a “meh” (apathetic) attitude. Are there better ways of acting in a large city? Probably, but things are the way they are right now. Right or wrong doesn’t really matter when it’s here and now. So I’ll say again, China isn’t all THAT bad. However, the only gripes I have with China are the smoggy air and the rather large number of smokers. Back home, people will smoke only in certain areas and away from other people. Over here, it’s everywhere: inside buildings, outside, and even beside kids. Right now as I’m typing this in my hotel room, I can smell cigarette smoke. Someone is most definitely smoking in a room beside me. Merde! At least the smell of cigarettes in Vancouver smells decent. I miss home, but that’s expected. China is much more greener than I expected (in terms of the color and the number of trees).

The people here dress in an…interesting *cough*WEIRD*cough* manner. Funny fact, the hotel I’m in is beside a Wal-mart. The one thing I did NOT expect to see in China.

5 thoughts on “Eating noodles with two spoons”

  1. I passed by Nanjing once, decided to go to the Nanjing Massacre memorial museum. Especially haunting. The Wal-mart thing is not that surprising…China’s going through the exact same phase as the US did when they introduced large department stores.

    Yep, the Cars and people who drive them are especially rude. You haven’t been to the smoggiest of cities yet: wait until you hit Shanghai (too bad you won’t be there during thunderstorm season…interesting shot spots there). Also, a warning: most Shanghainese people are very snobby and rude, and they will try to rip you off if they find out you’re a foreigner (based on personal experience) though night walks through the city are quite nice.

    Looking forward to reading more about your views of China. I’ve been there relatively regularly and it’s a surprise each time I go there.

    1. Hmmm I take slight offence to that as I am basically Shanghainese by origin (both my parents were born and raised in Shanghai) 😛 I speak a fair bit of Shanghainese and generally we view ourselves as being quite polite. Biased view #1! =D

      But in all seriousness I’m not offended, I just don’t get that problem since I am basically Shanghainese ^^

      1. My most sincere apologies. In my trips to Shanghai, I’ve had some experiences with very rude Shanghainese people, hence the heavy bias. Though, interesting observation, Shanghainese here in Canada are all very well mannered and polite. I suppose, once stripped of all official identity, it just depends on the person. =)

Leave a Reply

